Community Services and Land Use Committee

Mission Statement

The Community Services and Public Safety Committee facilitates and evaluates the delivery of community services  and public safety through the initiation of policies and funding proposals, utilizing various providers through the solicitation, development, and leveraging of grant opportunities to complement the County's programs in serving its citizens.  

 External Responsibilities as Council's Representative

  • Alcohol & Drug Abuse Board 
  • Animal Services
  • Beaufort Jasper Hampton Comp. Health Services 
  • Beaufort Water Search & Rescue Squadron
  • Bluffton Township Fire District
  • Board of Voters Registration & Elections
  • Burton Fire District
  • Code Enforcement
  • Collaborative Organization of Services for Youth
  • Coroner
  • Daufuskie Island Fire District
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Detention Center

  • Disabilities & Special Needs
  • Family Court
  • Lady's Island/St. Helena Fire District Commission 
  • Library Board
  • Magistrates Office 
  • Parks & Recreation Board
  • Probate Court
  • Public Defender
  • Sheldon Fire District Board
  • Sheriff's Department
  • Solicitor
  • Town of Bluffton
  • Town of Hilton Head
  • Town of Port Royal


Committee Members 2022 - 2023

Alice Howard


York Glover


Gerald Dawson
Paula Brown
Thomas Reitz


Staff Support

Audra Antonacci - Ogden, Assistant County Administrator, Community Services

Chuck Atkinson, Assistant County Administrator, Development/Recreation

John Robinson, Interim County Administrator