
Appealing Your 
Personal 

Property Tax 
Assessment 

The Administrative 
Law Court 

If you have received your appeal 

decision letter and disagree with the 

decision, you have the option of 

contacting the South Carolina 

Administrative Law Court to have the 

issue reviewed. You can access their 

appeal form online. The filing fee for 

submitting this appeal is $75.00. By 

law, the appeal submitted to the 

Administrative Law Judge Division must 

be received within 30 calendar days of 

your decision letter.  

Important: You can only submit an 

additional appeal to the ALC if you 

have already received a decision letter 

from the Auditor. It is NOT the first 

step in appealing the value of your 

personal property. 

Updated August 2023.  

 

Contact 

Beaufort County Auditor’s Office 
PO Box 458 
Beaufort, SC 29901 
Phone: 843-255-2500 
Email: BeaufortCountyAuditor@bcgov.net 
Website: beaufortcountysc.gov/auditor 

South Carolina Administrative Law Court 
Edgar A. Brown Building 
1205 Pendleton St, Ste 224 
Columbia, SC 29201 
Phone: 803-734-0550 
Website: www.scalc.net 

Beaufort County 
Auditor 

PO Box 458 

Beaufort, SC 29901 

      @BeaufortAuditor 



What is an Appeal? 

While values on personal property tax 

assessments are determined by nationally-

recognized value guides, there is a 

mechanism in place for taxpayers to appeal 

their assessments. SC law §12-60-2910 

states that a taxpayer may submit a written 

protest concerning the valuation of 

personal property to the Auditor for review.  

By submitting this written appeal to the 

Auditor, you have the opportunity to have 

the value of your vehicle, watercraft, or 

aircraft reviewed, taking into consideration 

any depreciation that may have occurred 

since the beginning of the tax year.   

Please note:  Depreciation in this sense is 

not determined by normal “wear and tear.” 

Depreciation is based solely on the age of 

the property in its usable state.  

Receiving Your Decision 
Letter 

Once the appeal is submitted, it will be reviewed 

by the Auditor and the Appeal Board. Once the 

Auditor reaches a decision concerning the 

appeal, you will be notified in writing.  

If the personal property tax bill was UNPAID 

prior to the appeal and the Auditor adjusts the 

value, you will receive an adjusted tax bill along 

with the decision letter. You can make payment 

on the adjusted tax bill with the new value. 

If the personal property tax bill was PAID prior 

to the appeal and the Auditor decreases the 

value, you will receive a refund check from the 

Treasurer’s Office for the overpayment about 

4—6 weeks later. Your decision letter will detail 

the amount that you will be refunded.  

Important: The adjusted value for an appeal is 

only good for 12 months. The value will default 

to the guide-mandated value the following tax 

year. You must appeal the value each year if you 

feel the assessment is incorrect.  

Submitting Your Appeal 

If you decide to appeal your personal property tax 

assessment, you may complete an Appeal Form 

and indicate what you believe the value should be. 

You can find these forms on the county website, 

pick them up in person at the Auditor’s Office, or 

call and request that a form be sent to you. You 

may fill out an Appeal Form for a Vehicle, Aircraft, 

or Watercraft.  The appeal must be returned to 

the Auditor’s Office by mail, email, or in person. 

You may submit any supporting documentation 

along with your appeal that you feel relevant to 

your position. This documentation can include a 

copy of the original bill of sale, values from other 

guides, repair estimates, salvage titles, appraisals, 

or pictures of the property that is being appealed. 

If you do not know whether or not you should 

submit an appeal for your property, you may use 

the Property Tax Calculator on the county website. 

Using this calculator will give you a rough estimate 

of what your taxes would be at a particular value, 

less any additional fees. The calculator may help 

you determine whether or not submitting an 

appeal would be beneficial.  

Appeals will only be considered if they are 

submitted on or before last day that the tax notice 

can be paid timely. After this time, appeals are not 

timely and may not be considered.  

Important: Submitting an appeal does 

not change the due date of the bill! 


