## Beaufort County Solid Waste and Recycling Special Board Meeting Friday January 12, 2007, 1:00 p.m. Public Works Conference Room

**Attendees:** Mr. Walter Becker, District 3 Representative (Ex-Officio)

Mr. Gordon Bowers, District 7 Representative

Mr. Earl Dietz, Chairman and District 8 Representative

Mr. George Potts, District 9 Representative

James Williams, MCAS Liaison

Mr. James Minor, Solid Waste Manager Ms. Carol Murphy, Recycling Coordinator Ms. Billie Lindsay, Recycling Coordinator Mr. Gary Jones, Operations Foreman

Visitors Laura Von Harten, County Council

Lolita Huckabee, Bluffton Today

Thea Luba, Hilton Head

Dan Alward ,Republic Solid Waste

David Yehling, Burton

**Absentees:** Ms. Susie Fripp Gordon, District 5

VACANT, District 6 Representative

VACANT, District 4 Representative (Ex-Officio) VACANT, District 2 Representative (Ex-Officio) VACANT, District 1 Representative (Ex-Officio)

Mr. Brad Woods, MCRD Liaison Mr. Leland McCormack, DHEC Liaison

Mr. Eddie Bellamy, Public Works Director Cpl. Richard Black, Litter Officer SOB Officer Toni Doyle, Litter Officer NOB

- Chairman Dietz called the meeting to order at 1:15.
- Mr. Dietz explained the purpose of the Solid Waste and Recycling Board to the guests present, explaining that it was an advisement vehicle for the Public Works Subcommittee and County Council
- Mr. Dietz asked for any public comment. There was none.
- Mr. Minor presented a brief overview of the current Solid Waste ordinance and the need to update and revise this important document. A section by section review and discussion was held of the first 29 pages of the ordinance.
  - o Mr. Dietz proposed that it be consistent in verbiage, punctuation and format. He also suggested that "shall" was a better use than "may" and the group agreed to replace as they reviewed.
  - o Mr. Minor noted that all sections were being aligned with SC Law.
- The group agreed to finish the ordinance review at the regular meeting and adjourned at 4:15.
- The next meeting will be held January 18, 2:00 pm at the Public Works Conference Room.

Cc: Mr. Gary T. Kubic, County Administrator
Mr. Harold C. Boehm, Deputy Administrator Public Services / Land Management Department

Miss Suzanne Rainey, Clerk to Council