MINUTES RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD MEETING

August 11, 2022

Crystal Lake Park/Zoom

The electronic and print media duly notified in accordance with the State Freedom of Information Act.

ATTENDANCE

Present:	Chairman Walter Mack, Vice-Chairman Art Baer, Ford Bartholow, Mac Bennett, Kenneth Frazier, John Maffei, Tom Murray, Gail O'Kane, Beek Webb
Absent:	None
County Council:	Alice Howard, York Glover
Staff:	Amanda Flake, Natural Resources Planner
Visitors:	Kate Schaefer, BCOLT Director of Land Protection; Morgan Jeffries, Beaufort County; Stacey Rokas, citizen

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Walter Mack called the meeting to order at 2:32 p.m.

Public notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: It was moved by Ms. O'Kane, seconded by Mr. Maffei to approve the agenda. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

July 14, 2022

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Bennett seconded by Ms. O'Kane to approve the minutes as presented. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

Minutes – Rural and Critical August 11, 2022 Page **2** of **3**

MISCELLANEOUS

Ms. Flake answered a question that was posed last month. To be a board member on the Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board you have to live in that council district, not just own land.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Greenspace Sales Tax Referendum

Ms. Schaefer stated that the Greenspace sales tax referendum passed third and final reading at County Council on Monday and will be put on the ballot in November. It will be a penny sales tax that will begin in May of 2023 and will either run for two years or collect 100 million dollars, whichever comes first. There will be discussion of how to administer this referendum at the next Natural Resources Committee on Tuesday, September 6, 2022.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Murray seconded by Mr. Webb to approve to go into Executive Session. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

MATTERS ARISING OUT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION

<u>It was moved by Mr Webb and seconded by Vice-Chairman Baer to recommend due diligence for project</u> <u>Lucy Creek PDR. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr.</u> <u>Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.</u>

It was moved by Ms. O'Kane and seconded by Mr. Maffei to recommend due diligence for project Davis Road Fee. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

It was moved by Vice-Chairman Baer and seconded by Ms. O'Kane to NOT recommend due diligence for project Great Swamp Fee. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

It was moved by Vice-Chairman Baer and seconded by Mr. Bennett to NOT recommend due diligence for project Hwy 278 Fee. The vote: YAYS – Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. OPPOSE – Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Maffei. ABSTAIN – Chairman Mack. The motion passed.

It was moved by Vice-Chairman Baer and seconded by Ms. O'Kane to recommend approval of project Beach City Road #3 Fee as presented in executive session. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed. Minutes – Rural and Critical August 11, 2022 Page **3** of **3**

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Motion: <u>It was moved by Vice-Chairman Baer, seconded by Ms. O'Kane to adjourn the</u> meeting at 4:48 pm. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bartholow, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

Submitted by:	Amanda Flake, Beaufort County Community Development
	Natural Resources Planner

Approved:

Walter Mack, Chairman Beaufort County Rural and Critical Lands Preservation Board

Date: _____