BEAUFORT COUNTY RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board (hereafter known as the Board) was held on Thursday, October 11, 2007 in the Conference Room at Clemson University Extension Office at 3pm.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mr. Steve Riley (Chair)

Ms. Gloria Cartwright (Vice-Chair)

Ms. Selena Brown

Ms. Dorothy Giddens

Mr. York Glover

Mr. Ed Pappas

Mr. Jacob Preston

Mr. Ray Tudor

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mr. Pete Dawson

Mr. Malcolm Goodridge

Mr. Andy Shapiro

STAFF PRESENT:

Mr. John Miller, PALS

Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director

Ms. Amanda Flake, Natural Resources Planner

Ms. Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant

Mr. Frederick Lewis, Mr. Glenn Stanford - Trust for Public Land (TPL)

GUEST PRESENT:

Ms. Andrea Malloy, Coastal Conservation League

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Riley called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the agenda and Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director, added an item of general discussion to the agenda.

Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the minutes from the September 13, 2007 Board meeting. Hearing none, Mr. Ray Tudor made a motion and Ms. Dorothy Giddens seconded the motion to accept the minutes from the September 13, 2007 Board meeting. **Motion carried.**

GENERAL DISCUSSION

Mr. Chairman presented the Board members with a few administrative items to address:

- 1) Updates for the Board directory due November 14, 2007;
- 2) Conflict of Interest Letters annual requirement due December 3, 2007;
- 3) 2008 Meeting Schedule Calendar deadline December 3, 2007 (this will be an Agenda item for November Board meeting)

Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director, presented and opened discussion on the subject of TDR (Transfer of Development Rights) to the Board. TDR is, in concept, banking development rights and preserving/recognizing some areas appropriate to receiving and allowing more density or buying density rights. The general consensus of the Board was to hear more about the process and how it may fit in with what the RCLPB is doing.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairman Riley entertained a motion by Mr. York Glover, seconded by Mr. Ray Tudor, to adjourn the open session at 3:40 p.m. and enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing matters associated with property acquisitions. The vote was unanimous to enter into Executive Session.

The Board re-entered Open Session at 4:05 p.m.

The following to be presented to Land Management Committee:

Ms. Gloria Cartwright made a motion; seconded by Mr. Ray Tudor, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel B</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion carried.

Mr. Ray Tudor made a motion; seconded by Mr. York Glover, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel L</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion carried.

Mr. Ed Pappas made a motion; seconded by Mr. York Glover, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel S</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion carried.

Ms. Gloria Cartwright made a motion; seconded by Mr. York Glover, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel J</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion carried.

Ms. Dorothy Giddens made a motion; seconded by Mr. Ray Tudor, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel M</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, Chairman Riley entertained a motion at 4:10 p.m. from Mr. Ray Tudor, seconded by Mr. York Glover, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Submitted by:	Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant
Approved:	Stephen G. Riley – Chairman, Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board
	Date: