## BEAUFORT COUNTY RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board (hereafter known as the Board) was held on Thursday, September 13, 2007 in the Conference Room at Clemson University Extension Office at 3pm.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. Steve Riley (Chair)

Ms. Gloria Cartwright (Vice-Chair)

Ms. Selena Brown

Mr. Pete Dawson

Ms. Dorothy Giddens

Mr. Malcolm Goodridge

Mr. York Glover

Mr. Ed Pappas

Mr. Jacob Preston

Mr. Ray Tudor

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Mr. Andy Shapiro

#### STAFF PRESENT:

Mr. John Miller, PALS

Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director

Ms. Amanda Flake, Natural Resources Planner

Ms. Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant

Mr. Frederick Lewis, Mr. Glenn Stanford, Mr. Raleigh West - Trust for Public Land (TPL)

## **GUEST PRESENT:**

Mr. Reed Armstrong, Coastal Conservation

### CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Riley called the meeting to order at 3:05p.m. Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the agenda and there were none.

Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the REVISED minutes from the May 10, 2007 Board meeting. Hearing none, Mr. Ray Tudor made a motion and Mr. Pete Dawson seconded the motion to accept the minutes from the May 10, 2007 Board meeting. **Motion carried.** 

June 14, 2007 minutes: Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes. Hearing none, Mr. Pete Dawson made a motion and Mr. Ray Tudor seconded the motion to accept the minutes from the June 14, 2007 Board meeting. **Motion carried.** 

### GENERAL DISCUSSION

Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director, shared with the Board on the status of the Comprehensive Plan stating the Plan should be in compliance with the State and completed by end of December, 2007.

Mr. Criscitiello also introduced, and the Board welcomed, Ms. Amanda Flake, Beaufort County Planning Department's Natural Resource Planner.

The Board also welcomed newest Board member, Mr. Jacob Preston, District 4, to the Board.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chairman Riley entertained a motion by Mr. York Glover, seconded by Ms. Selena Brown, to adjourn the open session at 3:10p.m. and enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing matters associated with property acquisitions. The vote was unanimous to enter into Executive Session.

### The Board re-entered Open Session at 4:15p.m.

The following to be presented to Land Management Committee:

Mr. Malcolm Goodridge made a motion; seconded by Mr. Ray Tudor, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel B</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. **The motion carried.** 

Mr. York Glover made a motion; seconded by Ms. Cartwright, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel P</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. **The motion carried.** 

Mr. Ed Pappas made a motion; seconded by Ms. Dorothy Giddens, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue <u>Parcel O</u> under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. **The motion carried.** 

Mr. Steve Riley, Chairman, turned the gavel over to Vice-Chairman, Ms. Gloria Cartwright, who presided over the following motion: Mr. Malcolm Goodridge made a motion; seconded by Mr. Ray Tudor, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue Parcel H under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion carried. Mr. Riley recused himself from the

discussions of this item during Executive Session and further recused himself from the discussion and vote on this item in Open Session.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business, Chairman Riley entertained a motion at 4:30p.m. from Ms. Gloria Cartwright, seconded by Mr. Ray Tudor, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Submitted by:	Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant
Approved:	Stephen G. Riley – Chairman, Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board
	Date: