## BEAUFORT COUNTY RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board (hereafter known as the Board) was held on Thursday, June 14, 2007 in the Conference Room at Clemson University Extension Office at 3pm.

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. Steve Riley (Chair)Ms. Selena BrownMr. Pete DawsonMr. York GloverMr. Andy ShapiroMr. Ray Tudor

Ms. Gloria Cartwright Mr. Ed Pappas

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Ms. Dorothy Giddens Mr. Malcolm Goodridge

### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Mr. Skeet Von Harten, Vice Chairman, County Council
Mr. Buz Boehm, Public Services Director
Mr. John Miller, PALS
Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director
Mr. Rob Merchant, Long Range Planner
Ms. Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant
Mr. Frederick Lewis, Mr. Glenn Stanford, Mr. Raleigh West, Mr. Slade Gleaton - Trust for
Public Land (TPL)

# CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Riley called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the agenda and there were none.

Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the minutes from the April 19, 2007 Board meeting. Hearing none, Mr. Glover made a motion and Mr. Tudor seconded the motion to accept the minutes from the April 19, 2007 Board meeting. Motion carried.

May 10, 2007 minutes: Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes; Mr. Shapiro made comments and suggested revising the minutes reflecting more information on the subject of the Bluffton Park Presentation. The Chairman will work with Staff to make the changes to the minutes and the motion was made by Mr. Tudor and seconded by Mr.

Glover to carry over the approval of the May 10 Board minutes until next month. Motion carried.

# **GENERAL DISCUSSION**

## **Election of Officers:**

Chairman Riley advised there is still one vacancy for the Greater Bluffton area (Allen Ward's district) and questioned the Board members on whether to proceed with elections at this time. Mr. Shapiro felt that we have enough members present, the Board should not procrastinate election of officers and election proceeded.

Two positions are to be filled: Chairman and Vice-Chairman. The floor was opened for nominations by Chairman Riley:

Mr. Shapiro nominated Steve Riley for Chairman; Mr. Glover made a motion to close nominations for Chairman; Ms. Cartwright seconded. Motion carried and vote was cast unanimously for election of Chairman Riley as Chairman. Sustained.

Mr. Glover nominated Gloria Cartwright for the position of Vice-Chairman. Mr. Shapiro made a motion to close nominations; Mr. Tudor seconded. Motion carried and vote was cast unanimously for election of Ms. Cartwright as Vice-Chairman. Sustained.

## **Discussion: Friends of Beaufort County Parks:**

Mr. Buz Boehm presented a draft document to Board that calls for and requests the Board's endorsement of a "Friends of Beaufort County Parks" Board. In summary, the Friends of Beaufort County Parks ("Friends") is a citizens group that will assist Beaufort County in providing for the best stewardship of all lands and easements acquired through the Beaufort County Rural & Critical Lands Program (RCLP).

The concept would be with this initiative to put together a Board ("Friends") to bridge the gap between the citizens, the RCLP Board, County Council, TPL and County staff with actually implementing the RCLP Board ideas which have been blessed and bought by County Council.

"Friends" would assist with possible fund raising, determining park design, management plans, and in the creation of partnerships with other organizations that will complement the stewardship goals of the RCLP Board. Membership would be made of 3 citizens with specific expertise; 2 members from RCLP Board and 2 members from PALS Board.

Mr. Boehm stated his recommendation to the RCLP Board would be that the RCLP Board endorses this "Friends" concept, as PALS has endorsed, and would ask the Board for 2 members to participate in another function. After open discussion, the Board recommended endorsement of the idea but minus the 2 required members of RCLP Board participation.

## The Nature Conservancy/ACE Basin Task Force:

Representatives Present:

Noel Thorn, Director, The Nature Conservancy

Mike McShane, Chairman, Task Force; Chair, SC DNR; Landowner, Northern Beaufort County

Charles Lane: Vice-Chair, Task Force; Chair, SC Conservation Bank

Lane Morrison: Chair, SC Nature Conservancy; Chair, South LowCountry Task Force; Landowner & Resident, Northern Beaufort County

Weldon Shenck, ACE Basin Task Force; Landowner, Member; Chair, Special Yemassee Planning Effort

Mr. Thorn gave an introduction and how mutual goals can be met working together to have more leverage to get more bang for your buck at a local level; to get involved to reach goals protecting lands and compatibility with surroundings, whether bringing in more dollars for leverage, or just simply join forces to 'hold the line in the sand" when necessary. The ACE Basin Task Force was established 1988 and has protected 170,000 acres of the 700,000 acres in basin. The Task Force is currently working in Northern Beaufort County, with the Town of Yemassee and financially supporting the Town in its regional plan efforts.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chairman Riley entertained a motion by Mrs. Cartwright, seconded by Mr. Tudor, to adjourn the open session at 3:50 p.m. and enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing matters associated with The Nature Conservancy. The vote was unanimous to enter into Executive Session.

#### The Board re-entered open session at 4:18 p.m.

Chairman Riley thanked the representatives of The Nature Conservancy and the ACE Basin Task Force for their presentation. Mrs. Cartwright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Tudor, to adjourn the open session at 4:20 p.m. and enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing matters associated with property acquisitions. The vote was unanimous to enter into Executive Session.

#### The Board re-entered open session at 5:15 p.m.

The following to be presented to Land Management Committee:

Mr. Shapiro made a motion; seconded by Mr. Dawson, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue Parcel N, under the terms and conditions as recommended by TPL, as discussed in Executive Session. **The motion carried.** 

Mr. Shapiro made a motion; seconded by Mrs. Cartwright, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council not to proceed with the purchase of Parcel W as discussed in Executive Session. **The motion was approved unanimously.** 

Mrs. Cartwright suggested for new members an orientation session with County Council or a provision of a packet of information in reference to projects and guidelines, etc. Mr. Chairman will check on this.

In addition, it was decided by Board that the Clemson location will suffice as meeting place until we can return to the BJWSA location.

## ADJOURNMENT

With no further business, Chairman Riley entertained a motion at 5:20 p.m. from Mr. Tudor, seconded by Mrs. Cartwright, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Submitted by:	Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant
Approved:	Stephen G. Riley – Chairman, Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board
	Date: