# BEAUFORT COUNTY RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board (hereafter known as the Board) was held on Thursday, May 10, 2007 in the Library at the Beaufort Jasper Hampton Comprehensive Health Services at 3pm.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. Steve Riley (Chair) Ms. Selena Brown Ms. Gloria Cartwright Mr. Pete Dawson Mr. York Glover Mr. Malcolm Goodridge

Mr. Ed Pappas Mr. Andy Shapiro Mr. Ray Tudor

Mr. Allen Ward

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Ms. Dorothy Giddens

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Mr. Skeet Von Harten, Vice Chairman, County Council

Mr. John Miller, PALS

Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Director

Ms. Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant

Mr. Frederick Lewis, Mr. Glenn Stanford, Mr. Raleigh West, Mr. Slade Gleaton - Trust for Public Land (TPL)

### CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Riley called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the agenda. Hearing none, Chairman Riley asked for a motion to accept the agenda. Mr. Tudor made motion, with Mr. Goodridge seconding, to accept the agenda. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the minutes from the April 19, 2007 Board meeting. All Board members were not yet present; therefore the approval of minutes will be carried over to next month.

### GENERAL DISCUSSION

### **Welcome to New Board Members:**

Chairman Riley welcomed two (2) new Board members: Selena Brown, representing District 2 and Ed Pappas, representing District 10.

### **Election of Officers:**

Chairman Riley recommended the election of officers be carried over to next month since all Board members were not yet present.

## Citizen Presentation on Proposed Bluffton Park Boardwalk Park:

A group of concerned residents appeared before the Board to urge acquisition of a 10 acre parcel within the Bluffton Park PUD that is slated for development as 87 multifamily units. A slide show and presentation was made by Carol Weir and Carlos Chacon. Others present included staff from the Town of Bluffton and a representative of the land owner. A letter of support for the effort was read from the Mayor of Bluffton, Hank Johnston. The residents pointed out that this was a relatively isolated upland area within a larger freshwater wetland system that drained into the May River. The property's proximity to the planned Red Maple Elementary School would make it an ideal outdoor classroom and that a boardwalk could be developed to benefit students, residents and visitors. Board members asked numerous questions and agreed to ask for a report from TPL Staff.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chairman Riley entertained a motion by Mr. Goodridge, seconded by Mr. Shapiro, to adjourn the open session at 3:52 p.m. and enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing matters associated with property acquisitions. The vote was unanimous to enter into Executive Session.

### The Board re-entered open session at 4:55 p.m.

The following to be presented to Land Management Committee:

Mr. Goodridge made a motion; seconded by Mr. Shapiro, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue Parcel A, with conditions, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion was carried: FOR: Riley, Cartwright, Glover, Goodridge, Pappas, Shapiro, Tudor, Ward, Brown; AGAINST: Dawson.

Mr. Pappas made a motion; seconded by Ms. Cartwright, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue Parcel B, as discussed in Executive Session. **The motion was approved unanimously.** 

Mr. Goodridge made a motion; seconded by Mr. Tudor, to recommend to the Land Management Committee of County Council to pursue Parcel C, as discussed in Executive Session. The motion did not pass. FOR: Dawson; AGAINST: Riley, Cartwright, Glover, Goodridge, Pappas, Shapiro, Tudor, Ward, Brown.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business, Chairman Riley entertained a motion at 5:05 p.m. from Mr. Goodridge, seconded by Ms. Cartwright, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Submitted by:	Charlotte Hiles, Planning Assistant
Approved:	Stephen G. Riley – Chairman, Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board
	Date: