#### **Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board**

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board (hereafter known as the Board) was held on Thursday, March 8, 2007 in the Conference Room of Beaufort-Jasper Water and Sewer Authority at 3:00 p.m.

Mr. Andy Shapiro

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. Steve Riley (Chair)	Ms. Gloria Cartwright	Mr. Pete Dawson
Mr. York Glover	Mr. Malcolm Goodridge	Ms. Terry Murray
Mr. Ray Tudor	Mr. Allen Ward	
MEMBERS ABSENT:		

# Mr. Emory Campbell Ms. Dorothy Giddens

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Mr. Tony Criscitiello, Planning Division Director, Beaufort County Planning Mr. John Holloway - Natural Resources Planner, Beaufort County Planning Mr. Slade Gleaton, Mr. Frederick Lewis, Mr. Glenn Stanford - Trust for Public Land (TPL)

# CALL TO ORDER--

Chairman Riley called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the agenda. Hearing none, Chairman Riley asked for a motion to accept the agenda. Mr. Tudor made motion, with Ms. Cartwright seconding, to accept the agenda. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion. Chairman Riley asked if there were any changes to the minutes from the February 8, 2007 Board meeting. Hearing none, Chairman Riley asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the February 8, 2007 Board meeting. Mr. Tudor made a motion to accept the minutes from the February 8, 2007 Board meeting. Mr. Tudor made a motion to accept the minutes from the February 8, 2007 Board meeting; Ms. Cartwright seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## GENERAL DISCUSSION—

### Update on Board member appointment process--

Mr. Holloway indicated that the County Council would be officially voting on some Board member reappointments and appointments at their March 12 meeting. Specifically, for reappointment are Chairman Riley, Mr. Shapiro and Mr. Goodridge and new appointee Mr. Ed Pappas to represent District 10 (Mr. Goodridge's old district).

Mr. Goodridge suggested officially recognizing outgoing Board members in the minutes. They are Ms. Terry Murray (Vice Chair – District 11), Mr. Allen Ward (District 4).

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**—

Chairman Riley entertained a motion by Mr. Tudor, seconded by Mr. Goodridge, to adjourn the open session at 3:07 p.m. and enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing matters associated with property acquisitions. The vote was unanimous to enter into Executive Session.

## The Board re-entered open session at 4:10 p.m.

# ADJOURNMENT--

With no further business, Chairman Riley entertained a motion at 4:10 p.m. from Mr. Dawson, seconded by Mr. Tudor, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimous to adjourn.

Submitted by: John D. Holloway, Jr., Natural Resources Planner

**Approved:** 

Stephen G. Riley – Chairman, Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board