

Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board Meeting

Chairman

WALTER MACK

Vice Chairman

ART BAFR

Board Members

FORD BARTHOLOW
MAC BENNETT
KENNETH FRAZIER
JOHN MAFFEI
TOM MURRAY
GAIL O'KANE
BEEKMAN WEBB
VACANT DISTRICT 4
VACANT DISTRICT 7

Staff Support

ROB MERCHANT AMANDA FLAKE

Contact

Post Office Drawer 1228 Beaufort, South Carolina 299901-1228 (843) 255-2140

Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board Meeting Agenda

Thursday, October 6, 2022 at 2:30 PM Crystal Lake Building/124 Lady's Island Drive/Zoom

- CALL TO ORDER
- 2. FOIA PUBLIC NOTIFICATION OF THIS MEETING HAS BEEN PUBLISHED, POSTED, AND DISTRIBUTED IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE SOUTH CAROLINA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT
- APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES September 8, 2022
- 5. CITIZEN COMMENTS

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 6. November Field Trip
- 7. Monthly Project Update

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- 8. Pursuant to S.C. Code Section 30-4-70(A)(2): Discussion of negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements and proposed sale or purchase of development rights on real properties known as Project Lobeco Farms PDR and Project Tarver Tract PDR
- 9. MATTERS ARISING OUT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION
- 10. ADJOURNMENT

MINUTES RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD MEETING

September 8, 2022

Crystal Lake Park/Zoom

The electronic and print media duly notified in accordance with the State Freedom of Information Act.

ATTENDANCE

Present: Chairman Walter Mack, Vice-Chairman Art Baer, Mac Bennett, Kenneth

Frazier, John Maffei, Tom Murray, Gail O'Kane, Beek Webb

Absent: Ford Bartholow

County

Council: Alice Howard, York Glover

Staff: Amanda Flake, Natural Resources Planner

Visitors: Kate Schaefer, BCOLT Director of Land Protection

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Walter Mack called the meeting to order at 2:29 p.m.

Public notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: It was moved by Ms. O'Kane, seconded by Mr. Murray to approve the agenda. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

August 11, 2022

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Webb seconded by Vice-Chairman Baer to approve the minutes as presented. The vote: YAYS — Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

Minutes – Rural and Critical September 8, 2022 Page 2 of 2

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Financial Update

Ms. Flake stated that as of June 30, 2022, the R&C Program had \$15,393,184 available for purchases. Ms. Flake stated that the reimbursement of \$25,000 came from a miscalculation on the Graves property and the Fort Fremont project is now complete.

Monthly Update

Ms. Schaefer stated that the deadline for Quarter 3 application submittals is September 30, 2022. She said that the Greenspace sales tax referendum passed third and final reading at County Council and will be put on the ballot in November. For current projects the Natural Resource Committee approved due diligence for Lucy Creek PDR, Davis Road Fee, and Blocker Field Extension Fee.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Bennett seconded by Ms. O'Kane to approve to go into Executive Session. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

MATTERS ARISING OUT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION

<u>It was moved by Mr Webb and seconded by Mr. Bennett to recommend purchase of Project Village Creekside PDR.</u> The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: It was moved by Ms. O'Kane, seconded by Mr. Webb to adjourn the meeting at 4:03 pm. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mack, Vice-Chairman Baer, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Frazier, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Murray, Ms. O'Kane, and Mr. Webb. The motion passed.

Submitted by:	Amanda Flake, Beaufort County Community Development Natural Resources Planner
Approved:	Walter Mack, Chairman
	Beaufort County Rural and Critical Lands Preservation Board
	Date: