

# COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department

Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex Physical: Administration Building, Room 115 100 Ribaut Road Mailing: Post Office Drawer 1228, Beaufort, SC 29901-1228 Phone: 843-255-2140 / FAX: 843-255-9432

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Planning Commission (hereinafter "Commission") was held in Council Chambers on Monday, March 6, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. Ed Pappas, Chairman Mr. Randolph Stewart, Vice Chairman Mr. Glenn Miller Ms. Cecily McMillan Mr. Dan Riedel Ms. Gail Murray Mr. Dennis Ross

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Mr. Kevin Hennelly

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Mr. Robert Merchant, Planning and Zoning Director Mr. Mark Davis, Planning and Zoning Deputy Director Mrs. Chris DiJulio-Cook, Senior Administrative Specialist Ms. Kristen Forbus, Long Range Planner

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Ed Pappas called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Chairman Pappas led those assembled in the pledge of allegiance.

**REVIEW OF MEETING MINUTES:** Mr. Daniel Riedel made a motion to approve the February 6, 2023 minutes. Mr. Glenn Miller seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

CITIZEN COMMENTS: Mr. Pappas asked if there were any non-agenda citizen comments.

Ms. Katherine Seeber, spoke of the work she and her archaeological team did on Pine Island. She stated they had gone above and beyond in terms of the science and the requirements.

## **ACTION ITEMS:**

# TEXT AMENDMENT TO THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CODE (CDC): APPENDIX B.3 (PERMITTED USES AND DEFINITIONS) TO ESTABLISH STANDARDS FOR SHORT-TERM RENTALS IN THE DAUFUSKIE ISLAND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CODE:

Mr. Mark Davis gave an overview of the work staff has done with the Daufuskie Island Council to draft the text amendment governing short-term rentals on Daufuskie.

Ms. Beth McIntyre, Daufuskie Island Council, spoke on the process the Council used to come up with the short-term rental standards and answered the Commissioners' questions.

Mr. John Schartner, also a member of the Daufuskie Island Council, told the commissioners that he had worked with the Daufuskie Island Codes Committee to help create the STR standards. As a councilor he

voted down the current proposal for special use permits in favor of conditional use permits. He also stated the majority of the residents preferred short-term rental permits as a conditional use and not a special use.

After much discussion, Chairman Pappas asked for a motion.

Mr. Riedel made a motion to table further discussion. Mr. Miller seconded the motion. The vote was 3:3 with one commissioner abstaining (For: Riedel, Miller, and McMillan / Against: Ross, Miller, and Pappas / Abstaining: Stewart). The motion failed.

Mr. Miller made a motion to meet with the residents of Daufuskie, the Daufuskie Alliance for Responsible Renters (DARR), and Daufuskie Island Council to gain more information but after further conversation, he withdrew his motion.

Ms. Gail Murray made a motion to recommend approval of the text amendment with the exclusion of the insurance requirement. Mr. Dennis Ross seconded the motion. The motion passed 5:2 (For: Murray, Ross, Stewart, Pappas, and McMillan / Against: Riedel and Miller)

# ZONING MAP AMENDMENT/REZONING REQUEST FOR 2.81 ACRES (R600 008 000 0625 0000) LOCATED AT THE INTERSECTION OF OKATIE HIGHWAY (170) AND LOWCOUNTRY DRIVE (462) FROM T2 RURAL (T2R) TO C4 COMMUNITY CENTER MIXED-USE (C4CCMU)

Mr. Merchant explained where the property was located and what the County is trying to do in requesting this rezoning to match another small, adjacent parcel owned by the same people.

The commissioners discussed concerns, asked questions of Mr. Merchant, and referred to the GIS map for clarification on the property's location.

Ms. Murray made a motion to recommend approval of the rezoning. Mr. Riedel seconded. The motion failed with a 2:5 vote (For: Murray and Riedel / Against: Ross, Stewart, Pappas, Miller and McMillan)

Mr. Riedel made a motion to not recommend the requested rezoning. Mr. Miller made a second to his motion. The motion passed 6:1 (For: Riedel, Ross, Stewart, Pappas, Miller, McMillan / Against: Murray)

## **DIRECTOR'S REPORT:**

Mr. Merchant told the Planning Commission that he would follow up with part two of the Comprehensive Plan update at another meeting. Instead, he wanted to introduce a new dashboard, created by the County's Planning and Zoning and GIS staff. GIS staff were there to support the announcement to the commissioners. Mr. Ian deNeeve had to step out early but Mr. Dan Morgan was in attendance. Mr. Merchant also highlighted the contributions of Mrs. Nancy Moss, from the Planning Department.

Mr. Davis showed some of the capabilities of the new site and answered questions posed by the commissioners.

The commissioners thanked the staff and gave kudos for work well done.

## CHAIRMAN'S REPORT:

March 6, 2023 Planning Commission meeting minutes Page 3 of 3

Chairman Pappas welcomed the newest Planning Commissioner, Dennis Ross. He also thanked Dr. Caroline Fermin for her work on the Commission and gave an update on her pursuit of a new position within the County.

ADJOURNMENT: Chairman Pappas adjourned the meeting at 7:39 p.m.

SUBMITTED BY: Chris DiJulio-Cook

Planning and Zoning Senior Administrative Specialist

affa Ed-Pappas

Beaufort County Planning Commission Chairman

Date: 4/3/23