

# COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department

Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex Physical: Administration Building, Room 115 100 Ribaut Road Mailing: Post Office Drawer 1228, Beaufort, SC 29901-1228 Phone: 843-255-2140 / FAX: 843-255-9432

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Planning Commission (hereinafter "Commission") was held in Council Chambers on Monday, January 5, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mr. Ed Pappas, Chairman Mr. Randolph Stewart, Vice Chairman Dr. Caroline Fermin Ms. Gail Murray Mr. Kevin Hennelly Mr. Glenn Miller Ms. Cecily McMillan Mr. Dan Riedel

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Mr. Armin Wahl

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Mr. Robert Merchant, Planning and Zoning Director Mr. Mark Davis, Planning and Zoning Deputy Director Ms. Kristen Forbus, Long Range Planner Mrs. Chris DiJulio-Cook, Senior Administrative Specialist

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Ed Pappas called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Chairman Pappas led those assembled in the pledge of allegiance.

**REVIEW OF MEETING MINUTES:** Mr. Glenn Miller pointed out that his name had been left off the minutes although he had been present at the December 5<sup>th</sup> meeting. The minutes were unanimously accepted with the modification to the attendance.

**AGENDA REVIEW:** Chairman Ed Pappas suggested that the Executive Session on the agenda was not needed. Mr. Randolph Stewart made a motion the Commissioners not go into Executive Session. Mr. Glenn Miller seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Pappas stated that item #8 on the agenda, **ZONING MAP AMENDMENT/REZONING REQUEST FOR 1.00 ACRE AT 3 BENTON LANE (R600 036 000 0369 0000) FROM T3 EDGE (T3E) TO T2 RURAL CENTER (T2RC),** would be postponed until the February 6, 2023 meeting at the request of the applicant's representative.

The agenda was then unanimously accepted.

**CITIZEN COMMENTS:** Chairman Ed Pappas asked if there were any non-agenda citizen comments. There were none.

January 5,2023 Planning Commission meeting minutes Page 2 of 3

#### **ACTION ITEMS:**

# TEXT AMENDMENT TO THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CODE (CDC): SECTION 3.4.50 CULTURAL PROTECTION OVERLAY (CPO) ZONE STANDARDS

Mr. Eric Greenway, Beaufort County Administrator, explained that County Staff was looking to make a text change to the Cultural Protection Overlay. He stated that the proposed changes were due to legal concerns and not because of Pine Island. Ms. Brittany Ward, Beaufort County Attorney for Administration and Department Heads, described the changes the County was looking to make and explained some of the concerns the County has with the current language of the Cultural Protection Overlay. During the discussion about the proposed changes, Mr. Chuck Atkinson, Division Director for Development and Recreation, spoke in an effort to offer some clarification to the Planning Commissioners.

After much discussion, Chairman Pappas opened the meeting up to public comment. 40 people spoke against the text amendment to the Cultural Protection Overlay Zone Standards. They were:

Queen Quet, Gullah/Geechee Sea Island Coalition/Fishing Association Joey Strock, Fripp Point Road Community Litter Pickup, AAH Lillie Harris Bernie Wright, Penn Center, Inc. Janet McCauley Stephen Murray, Mayor of City of Beaufort Tim Joy Najmah Thomas, Gullah/Geechee Nation Ty O'Farrell Pam Baxley Ted Mamunes Robert New Daryl Orage, Cultural Protection Overlay Committee Chuck Newton, Sea Island Coalition Faith River James, SC Coastal Conservation League Sharon Holmes Anthony Jones Kristin Williams, Beaufort County Open Land Trust Marie Gibbs (for Emory Campbell) Amy Armstrong, South Carolina Environmental Law Project Wendy Zara Sara Reynolds Green Inez Miller Sally Maysen John Dunn Straud Armstrong Tom Donahue Arnold Brown Ed Atkins Carolyn Jebaily Pristine Alexander David Smith **Travis Stewart** Henry Brandt, Coastal Expeditions

January 5,2023 Planning Commission meeting minutes Page 3 of 3

Denise Parsick, Beaufort Soil and Water Conservation District Victory Smalls, Gullah/Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor William Smith Chief Sekhu Gentle Hadjo, Yamassee Indian Tribe Cynthia Jenkins, Historic Beaufort Foundation James Smalls

Mr. Robert Sample spoke in favor of the text amendment to the Cultural Protection Overlay Zone Standards.

In addition to all those who spoke publicly, hundreds of emails were received by Planning Staff and the Planning Commissioners, including letters from Governor McMaster and Senator Campsen. Except for a couple of emails, all were against the proposed text amendment.

A motion was made by Mr. Kevin Hennelly to reject the proposed changes to the Cultural Protection Overlay. Mr. Daniel Riedel seconded the motion. Mr. Brad Mitchell, Attorney for the Planning Commission directed the Commissioners to change the language of the motion and not use the word "reject". Ms. Cecily McMillan made a motion to amend the original motion by adding they maintain the original language, as it currently exists. Mr. Glenn Miller seconded the motion to amend.

Ms. McMillan reiterated her motion. To not recommend approval of the text amendment, proposed by staff, 3.4.50 Cultural Protection Overlay Zone Standards, and instead to maintain the language as currently written. Chairman Pappas called a vote on the amendment, the vote was unanimous.

Mr. Pappas then called a vote on the original motion, made by Mr. Hennelly, to not recommend the approval of the proposed text amendment. The motion passed unanimously.

## VOTE ON PLANNING COMMISSION CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR 2023

Dr. Caroline Fermin nominated Randolph Stewart as Vice Chairman. Mr. Miller seconded the nomination. The vote was unanimous.

Mr. Riedel nominated Ed Pappas as Chairman. Dr. Fermin seconded the nomination. The vote was unanimous.

ADJOURNMENT: Chairman Pappas adjourned the meeting at 9:07 p.m.

SUBMITTED BY:

Chris DiJulio-Cook Planning and Zoning Senior Administrative Specialist

EdPappas Beaufort County Planning Commission Chairman