

COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY Beaufort County Planning and Zoning Department

Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex
Physical: Administration Building, Room 115 100 Ribaut Road
Mailing: Post Office Drawer 1228, Beaufort, SC 29901-1228
Phone: 843-255-2140 / FAX: 843-255-9432

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Planning Commission (hereinafter "Commission") was held virtually on Monday, February 1, 2021, 6:00 p.m.

Members Present:

Mr. Ed Pappas, Chairman Dr. Caroline Fermin Mr. Randolph Stewart, Vice Chairman

Ms. Diane Chmelik Ms. Cecily McMillan Mr. Jimmie Lawrence Jr

Mr. Kevin Hennelly Mr. Frank Ducey

Members Absent:

Mr. Jason Hincher

Staff Present:

Mr. Robert Merchant, BC Planning and Zoning Acting Director

Mr. Noah Krepps, BC Long Range Planner

Ms. Diane McMaster, Senior Administrative Specialist

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Ed Pappas called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Chairman Ed Pappas led those assembled in the pledge of allegiance.

REVIEW OF MEETING MINUTES: The Commissioners reviewed the October 5, 2020, meeting minutes, and Chairman Ed Pappas asked for a motion to approve same. Mr. Kevin Hennelly made a motion to approve the October 5, 2020, minutes as submitted, and Vice Chairman Stewart seconded the motion. There was unanimous support for the motion.

AGENDA REVIEW: Chairman Ed Pappas asked if there were any revisions or additions to the meeting agenda. There were none.

WELCOME NEW COMMISSION MEMBER: Jimmie Lawrence Jr

CITIZEN COMMENTS: Chairman Ed Pappas asked if there were any non-agenda citizen comments. There were none.

ACTION ITEMS:

Zoning Map Amendment/ Rezoning Request for 17.92 acres (R600 013 000 00369 0000) at the Intersection of Okatie Highway and Cherry Point Road from T2 Rural to C3 Neighborhood Mixed Use and C4 Community Center Mixed Use Districts; Applicant: Antoine Iskandar, ACH Custom Homes.

Mr. Robert Merchant, BC Planning and Zoning Acting Director, presented the staff report. BC Staff recommended conditional approval of the application as follows: Applicant shall follow the recommendations of the Traffic Impact Analysis and any additional conditions as provided by Kimley-Horn and the Beaufort County School District. The applicant hired Bihl Engineering to prepare the required Traffic Impact Analysis (TIA) dated 01/14/21. Ms. Jennifer Bihl with Bihl Engineering summarized the findings and discussed five (5) recommendations. Kimley-Horn conducted a technical review dated 01/26/21 of the Bihl Engineering TIA on behalf of the County. Mr. Jonathan Guy with Kimley-Horn

described the Bihl Engineering TIA as accurate but conservative and emphasized the need for a future, more comprehensive analysis. Both traffic engineering reports are a part of these minutes.

Mr. Antoine Iskandar spoke on behalf of the Cherry Point Road rezoning request.

Ms. Carol Crutchfield, Planning Coordinator BCSD, was in attendance as a representative for the Beaufort County School District (BCSD). The School District requested that the residential portion of the request be postponed until plans for the site are more defined. A copy of a letter dated 01/27/21 from the BCSD regarding this rezoning request is a part of these minutes.

Ms. Jessie White, Coastal Conservation League South Coast Office Director, spoke regarding the Okatie Highway/Cherry Point Road rezoning and described it as a significant up zoning request. On behalf of the SC Coastal Conservation League, she asked that the request be denied.

For the record, Vice Chairman Stewart recused himself from any discussion and vote regarding Agenda Item #8, Okatie Highway/Cherry Point Road rezoning due to the fact that he has performed work for the property owner's representative in the past.

Chairman Ed Pappas requested a motion regarding the Cherry Point Road rezoning. Mr. Kevin Hennelly made a motion to deny the proposed rezoning, seconded by Dr. Caroline Fermin. The motion to deny passed by a 7:0 vote with a recusal from Vice Chairman Stewart. (FOR: Ms. Diane Chmelik, Dr. Caroline Fermin, Mr. Kevin Hennelly, Chairman Ed Pappas, Ms. Cecily McMillan, Mr. Frank Ducey, Mr. Jimmie Lawrence Jr; and RECUSED: Vice Chairman Randolph Stewart.)

Zoning Map Amendment/Rezoning Request for 1.96 acres (R600 036 000 015E 0000) at the Southwest Corner of May River Road and Benton Lane in Pritchardville from T3 Edge to T2 Rural Center; Applicant: Blaine McClure.

Mr. Noah Krepps presented the staff report and history of zoning for this parcel. Currently, the site does not have access to public sewer or water. The proposed zoning change constitutes a "spot zoning" and therefore, cannot be supported by BC Planning staff. There is also Planning staff concern regarding potential impact to the surrounding residential areas.

Four (4) emails from Cedar Lake area residents expressing their concerns were received by Planning staff prior to the meeting. There were also three (3) citizen comments in favor of the rezoning which were received during the meeting.

Mr. Blaine McClure and Mr. Keene Reese spoke on behalf of the May River Road rezoning request.

Chairman Ed Pappas requested a motion regarding the May River Road rezoning. Ms. Cecily McMillan made a motion to deny the proposed rezoning due to the "spot zoning" issue, seconded by Mr. Kevin Hennelly. The motion to deny passed by a vote of 5:3. (FOR: Dr. Caroline Fermin, Mr. Kevin Hennelly, Chairman Ed Pappas, Ms. Cecily McMillan, and Mr. Jimmie Lawrence Jr; OPPOSED: Vice Chairman Randolph Stewart, Ms. Diane Chmelik, and Mr. Frank Ducey.)

DISCUSSION ITEMS:

Comprehensive Plan Update - Mr. Robert Merchant presented an update and document review timeline for the draft Comprehensive Plan.

The first draft from the consultant was received February 1, 2021, and Planning staff will present to the Planning Commission the middle of March 2021. Chairman Ed Pappas suggested a special Planning Commission meeting(s) be scheduled for March 2021 involving multiple discussions.

NEW/OTHER BUSINESS:

New Business: Chairman's Report

The 2021 Meeting Schedule was formally recognized. Chairman Ed Pappas also discussed the importance of continuing education training, attendance at scheduled meetings, and the number of educational resources provided at the SC Association of Counties website.

Dr. Caroline Fermin nominated Mr. Ed Pappas for a second term as Chairman of the BC Planning Commission, seconded by Mr. Kevin Hennelly. There was unanimous support for the nomination.

Dr. Caroline Fermin nominated Mr. Randolph Stewart for a second term as Vice Chairman of the BC Planning Commission, seconded by Mr. Kevin Hennelly. There was unanimous support for the nomination.

Other Business: The next Planning Commission meeting is scheduled for Monday, March 1, 2021, 6:00 p.m. Additional meeting details will be made available prior to the March 1 meeting date.

ADJOURNMENT: With no further business to discuss, Chairman Ed Pappas adjourned the meeting at 8:29 p.m.

SUBMITTED BY:

Diane McMaster

Community Development Senior Administrative Specialist

Ed Pappus

Beaufort County Planning Commission Chairman

Date