

COUNTY COUNCIL OF BEAUFORT COUNTY

Beaufort County Community Development Department

Beaufort County Government Robert Smalls Complex
Physical: Administration Building, Room 115 100 Ribaut Road
Mailing: Post Office Drawer 1228, Beaufort, SC 29901-1228
Phone: 843-255-2140 / FAX: 843-255-9432

A Special Workshop virtual meeting of the Beaufort County Planning Commission (hereinafter "Commission") was held on Tuesday, July 21, 2020, 2:00 p.m., via Webex.

Members Present:

Mr. Ed Pappas, Chairman Dr. Caroline Fermin Mr. Randolph Stewart, Vice Chairman

Ms. Cecily McMillan Mr. Harold Mitchell Mr. Frank Ducey

Mr. Kevin Hennelly Mr. Jason Hincher

Members Absent:

Ms. Diane Chmelik

Staff Present:

Mr. Eric Greenway, BC Community Development Director

Mr. Robert Merchant, BC Community Development Assistant Director

Mr. Noah Krepps, BC Long Range Planner

Ms. Diane McMaster, Senior Administrative Specialist

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Ed Pappas called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Chairman Ed Pappas led those assembled in the pledge of allegiance.

CITIZEN COMMENTS: Mr. Alex James, representing the Hilton Head Island Homebuilders Association, shared the Association's comments/concerns. Mr. Chris Collins with Shoreline Construction also shared his comments/concerns.

ACTION ITEM

Impact Fee Study Update – Mr. Colin McAweeney, Consultant with Tischler Bise, presented the fee analysis to include:

- ❖ Fee Methods and Cost Components
- ❖ Maximum Supportable Development Impact Fee North and South of the Broad
- Projected Demand
- Parks & Recreation
- Libraries
- ❖ Public Safety EMS and Fire
- ❖ Solid Waste
- Transportation
- Capital Improvement Plan
- Housing Affordability
- Land Use Assumptions and Definitions
- Service Units by Housing Unit Size
- School District

Chairman Ed Pappas requested a motion to defer approval of the Impact Fee Study until the next regular meeting of the Planning Commission scheduled for Monday, August 3, 2020, 6:00 p.m. Mr. Frank Ducey made a motion to defer any action by the Planning Commission until the Monday, August 3, 2020, meeting. The motion to defer was seconded by Ms. Cecily McMillan and passed by a vote of 8:0 (FOR: Chairman Ed Pappas, Dr. Caroline Fermin, Mr. Jason Hincher, Vice Chairman Randolph Stewart, Mr. Harold Mitchell, Mr. Kevin Hennelly, Mr. Frank Ducey, and Ms. Cecily McMillan and ABSENT: Ms. Diane Chmelik).

Mr. Eric Greenway, Community Development Director, asked that any additional Impact Fee Study Update questions/concerns be sent to his office by close of business Friday, July 24, 2020, for further discussion and decision at the upcoming August 3, 2020, Planning Commission meeting. Consideration of the Impact Fee Study Update would be heard at the August 2020 Beaufort County Natural Resources Committee meeting and then County Council.

NEW/OTHER BUSINESS:

New Business: None

Other Business: The next scheduled Planning Commission meeting is set for Monday, August 3, 2020, 6:00 p.m., Council Chambers, County Administration Building, 100 Ribaut Road, Beaufort, SC.

ADJOURNMENT: With no further business to discuss, Chairman Ed Pappas adjourned the Special Workshop meeting at 4:16 p.m. All Commission members were in favor of adjournment.

SUBMITTED BY:

Diane McMaster

Community Development Senior Administrative Specialist

Ed Pappas | Date: S / 20