# LOWCOUNTRY ECONOMIC ALLIANCE MEETING MINUTES JUNE 14<sup>TH</sup>, 2012 10:30 am

## USCB BEAUFORT - HHI GATEWAY CAMPUS HARGRAY BUILDING $-2^{ND}$ FLOOR BOARD ROOM

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

- 1. INTRODUCTIONS
- 2. ROLL CALL BY SIGNATURE

Members in attendance: David Tigges, Dean Moss, Gary Kubic, Jerry Stewart, Ken Griffin, Billy Keyserling, Anthony Barrett, Dr. Jane Upshaw, Councilman Jerry Stewart, Jan Baxter and Steve Riley.

#### II. ADMINISTRATIVE

 MINUTES/RATIFICATION - Motion to approve May minutes Gary Kubic, Seconded, Dean Moss. Unanimously Approved.

Motion by David Tigges, Seconded by Gary Kubic to ratify prior meetings motion for the addition of new Board members and to begin serving immediately. New Board Members include Jon Verity, Town of Beaufort, Anthony Barrett, Town of Bluffton, Dean Moss, Town of Port Royal, Steve Riley, Town of Hilton Head Island, Jane Upshaw, and Jan Baxter. Unanimously Approved

 FINANCIALS - Jessica Bridges reported on the financials in the packet. Discussion was held. Motion to approve financials Dean Moss, Seconded by David Tigges. Unanimously approved.

#### III. BOARD

1. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Section 2.33 of the Policies and Procedures call for a Leadership Committee to be formed for the purpose of bringing forward a slate of officers to the Board for Consideration prior to July 1. The discussion of officers is timely however a formal committee was not formed in time to bring a slate forward. Therefore, a motion is required to waive Section 2.33 of the current policies to take action on a slate of officers during this meeting. Discussion was held. Motion to waive Section 2.33 and the Board Officers present to become a committee of the whole for purposes of nominating

officers to the Board for consideration, Motion by Gary Kubic, Seconded by Dean Moss. Unanimously approved.

Gary Kubic nominated David Tigges as Chairman, Seconded by Jane Upshaw Unanimously Approved.

Dean Moss nominated Dr. Jane Upshaw as Secretary, Seconded by Steve Riley. Unanimously Approved.

Jane Upshaw nominated Dean Moss as Treasurer, Seconded by Steve Riley. Unanimously Approved.

#### 2. NEW BOARD MEMBER CONSIDERATION

Motion to approve the nomination of Ken Griffin of BJWSA as a new member of the Board. Motion by Dean Moss, Seconded by Gary Kubic. Unanimously Approved.

#### IV. MARKETING UPDATE

- TARGETED INDUSTRY PLAN FINAL/RELEASE Staff reported that the Targeted Industry Report is final and that the plan it to release it to the public and press on Monday, June 18<sup>th</sup>. The Steering and Focus Committees will receive the final report prior to
- WEBSITE UPDATE AND RELEASE Staff reported the new regional website is complete
  and will be launched on June 18<sup>th</sup> as well. The website was constructed as a Regional
  marketing tool and included the three reports from Avalanche.

#### V. EXECUTIVE SESSION

A DISCUSSION OF MATTERS RELATING TO THE PROPOSED LOCATION, EXPANSION, OR THE PROVISION OF SERVICES ENCOURAGING LOCATION OR EXPANSION OF INDUSTRIES OR OTHER BUSINESSES IN THE AREA SERVED BY THE PUBLIC BODY -

Motion to go into Executive Session by Dean Moss. Seconded by Gary Kubic. Unanimously Approved.

#### VI. RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

Motion to return to Executive Session by Dean Moss Seconded by Gary Kubic. Unanimously Approved.

Motion to empower Executive Committee to negotiate a one year contract with Kim Statler to continue the critical work of the Alliance. Seconded by Steve Riley. Motion to approve accepted by all members with Anthony Barrett Abstaining.

### VII. ADJOURN

Motion to Adjourn Anthony Barrett. Seconded by Steve Riley. Unanimously Approved.