LOWCOUNTRY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

August 23, 2012 6:30 p.m.

MINUTES

PRESENT:

ABSENT:

BEAUFORT COUNTY:

Gerald Dawson

James Outlaw

Bill Ferguson

Lisa Sulka (Proxy to Chair)

George Williams (Proxy to Chair)

Brian Flewelling

Herbert Glaze
Mary Beth Heyward

Bill McBride Joseph McDomick

Jerry Stewart

COLLETON COUNTY:

Esther S. Black

Evon Robinson (Proxy to E. Black)

Joseph Flowers Larry Hutto Thomas Mann Gene Whetsel Bill Young

HAMPTON COUNTY:

Frankie Bennett Charles Boyles J. L. Goodwin

Lloyd Griffith Pete Hagood Buddy Phillips Nat Shaffer

JASPER COUNTY:

Sherry Carroll

LeRoy Blackshear Henry Lawton

Joey Malphrus

Gwen Smith

District; Margaret Griffith, wife of Tootie Griffith; Bill Ladson, former LCOG board member; Bob Nanni, Hardeeville City Manager; Celia Price, guest of Esther Black; Brad Samuel, SCANA Community & Economic Development & Local Government Representative; Mike

Bronco Bostick, Mayor of Hardeeville; Craig Forrest, SCDOT Commissioner, Second

Sweeney, Hardeeville City Councilman

STAFF:

GUESTS:

Hank Amundson, Chris Bickley, Michelle Knight, Ginnie Kozak, Jonathan Sherwood, Sherry

Smith, Carol Stonebraker

Chairman Bill Young called the August 23, 2012 Lowcountry Council of Governments regular board meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Pete Hagood gave the invocation. Introduction of guests and staff followed. Chairman Young welcomed LCOG's new Workforce Development Director Hank Amundson. Minutes of the July 26, 2012 meeting were unanimously approved on motion by Joe Flowers with a second from Mary Beth Heyward. Proxies presented by the Executive Director included Lisa Sulka and George Williams to the

Chair and Evon Robinson to Esther Black. All were general proxies. The meeting proceeded after determining a quorum was present.

Chairman Young conducted installation of 2012-2013 Officers: Chairman – Herbert Glaze/Beaufort County, Vice Chairman – Gwen Smith/Jasper County, Secretary – Lloyd (Tootie) Griffith/Hampton County and Treasurer – Tommy Mann/Colleton County. Bill Young turned the gavel over to Chairman Herbert Glaze, who then presented the outgoing Chairman's plaque to Mr. Young.

Chairman Glaze addressed Old Business and called for comments and action on the Lowcountry Water Quality Management (208) Plan, which was deferred from the previous meeting to allow further review. A revised Executive Summary was in meeting packets. Bill Young moved to approve the plan and Brian Flewelling seconded the motion. Chairman Glaze called for discussion and there was none. The motion unanimously carried.

With no items of New Business on the Agenda, Chairman Glaze called for Reports and recognized Sherry Smith for the July Finance Report. Copies were in meeting packets. Sherry said the report represented end of the first month in the new fiscal year and that Revenues and Operations are on target. There were no questions.

Michelle Knight was recognized for the Community & Economic Development Report. Copies were in meeting packets. Michelle reported that five CDBG fall funding round applications were requested, and applications must be submitted by September 17. They include demolition projects in Colleton County and the Town of Hampton, and a Hampton County Sheriff's substation, a Jasper County DHEC addition and a new library for the City of Hardeeville. Chairman Glaze called for questions and there were none.

Chris Bickley was recognized for the Director's Report. Copies were in meeting packets. Chris too welcomed Hank Amundson to the COG and commented on several items. Home Helpers, Inc. will not renew its Aging Program homemaker services contract with the COG. They have been an excellent provider and will continue until a replacement is named.

Chris reported on expected SCDOT federal transportation funding decreases that will result in statewide reductions to COG (rural) and MPO (urban) Guideshare funds. DOT also plans to require the COGs and MPOs to use 20% of their allocations for resurfacing. COG directors are requesting that the resurfacing requirement be broadened to include other type projects. Chris recognized SCDOT Commissioner Craig Forrest for comments. Mr. Forrest spoke about the Commission's work on a long-range needs assessment and options to present to the Governor and Legislature. The state faces many challenges in addressing its transportation needs with the current economic reality of reduced funding that probably will see even further reductions. Mr. Forrest responded to questions. Although South Carolina's gasoline tax is one of the lowest in the nation, increasing the tax would not solve long-term needs and be difficult to pass in the Legislature. The current cost to resurface one road mile is about \$200K.

Chris Bickley thanked Mr. Forrest for the information and continued with the Director's Report. The settlement agreement on the COG building dispute has been signed by all parties, the money is being held in trust, and work to complete the project should soon begin. Chris commended the towns of Brunson, Gifford, Hampton, Varnville and Yemassee, along with Hampton County, for consolidating their water and sewer services into one new countywide entity, the Lowcountry Regional Water System. New traffic count maps with latest available data

from 2011 are displayed in the Board Room and posted on the COG's website (www.lowcountrycog.org).

During Council Time Gerald Dawson requested the Board return to Old Business Item 1., Lowcountry Regional Water Quality Management (208) Plan and asked about septic tank inspection every two years. Chris Bickley said the plan presents recommendations, but it is up to local governments to implement ordinances based on their own land use and environmental policies. The needs of developed coastal areas differ from those of inland rural areas. All areas are subject to DHEC regulations.

With no additional business to address, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 7:00 p.m. Copies of the agenda were distributed prior to the meeting. A notice of the meeting was posted on the LCOG bulletin board at least twenty-four hours prior to the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

L. Chriswell Bickley, Jr. Executive Director

Attachments