LOWCOUNTRY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

June 23, 2011 6:30 p.m.

MINUTES

PRESENT: ABSENT:

BEAUFORT COUNTY: Bill Ferguson Donnie Beer (Proxy to B. Flewelling)

Brian Flewelling Gerald Dawson

Herbert Glaze James Outlaw (Proxy to G. Dawson)
Mary Beth Heyward Jerry Stewart (Proxy to B. McBride)
Bill McBride Lisa Sulka (Proxy to Chair)

Joseph McDomick George Williams

COLLETON COUNTY: Esther S. Black Vic Nettles

Joseph Flowers Evon Robinson (Proxy to E. Black)

Larry (Babe) Hutto Gene Whetsel Bill Young

HAMPTON COUNTY: Frankie Bennett J. L. Goodwin
Charles Boyles Nat Shaffer

Lloyd Griffith
Pete Hagood
Buddy Phillips

JASPER COUNTY: LeRoy Blackshear Sherry Carroll

Gary Hodges
Henry Lawton
Gwen Smith

GUESTS: URS Corp. Senior Consultant, Business Development Tony Chapman;

SCDOT District 2 Commissioner Craig Forrest; SCANA C/ED & Local

Government Representative Brad Samuel

STAFF: Chris Bickley, Ginnie Kozak, Sherry Smith, Carol Stonebraker

Chairman Buddy Phillips called the June 23, 2011 Lowcountry Council of Governments regular board meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Pete Hagood gave the invocation. Introduction of guests and staff followed. Minutes of the April 28, 2011 meeting were unanimously approved on motion by Henry Lawton with a second from Mary Beth Heyward. Proxies presented by the Executive Director included Donnie Beer to Brian Flewelling, Jim Outlaw to Gerald Dawson, Evon Robinson to Esther Black, Jerry Stewart to Bill McBride and Lisa Sulka to the Chair. All were general proxies. The meeting proceeded after determining a quorum was present. Chairman Phillips welcomed visitors Tony Chapman, Craig Forrest and Brad Samuel.

06-23-11 LCOG Board Meeting Minutes

Page 1

With no Old Business brought forward, Chairman Phillips addressed New Business and recognized Nominating Committee Chairman Tootie Griffith to present a slate of officers for the coming year. On behalf of the committee, Mr. Griffith nominated Bill Young as Chairman; Herbert Glaze, Vice-Chairman; Gwen Smith, Secretary and Tootie Griffith, Treasurer. A motion to elect as nominated was made by Mr. Griffith and seconded by Joe McDomick. Chairman Phillips asked if there were other nominations and there were none. The motion carried with all in favor.

Chairman Phillips recognized Chris Bickley to present the FY 2011-2012 Agency Budget. Summaries were mailed to board members for review prior to the meeting. Chris Bickley reported that the Executive Committee had met to review the budget in detail and recommended its approval. He reviewed highlights of the proposed budget and the programs and projects it funded. Although the state appropriation decreased, local government appropriations would increase based on 2010 Census numbers. The proposed budget is balanced and includes small contingency funds. Chris thanked county councils for continued support of COG programs. No across-the-board cost-of-living salary increase for COG employees was requested. Following review, Joe Flowers moved to approve the budget. Pete Hagood seconded the motion and it carried with all in favor.

Sherry Smith was recognized for the May Finance Report. Copies were in meeting packets. Sherry said the numbers were posted against the revised budget approved at the last meeting. Actual Operations were better than budget. Sherry explained that the building project shows a negative balance because all revenue was shown last fiscal year when received while actual construction has occurred over two years. The combined two-year activities are balanced. About \$110K remains in building expansion project funds with some activity expected to carry over into the upcoming fiscal year. The report was unanimously accepted as information on motion by Pete Hagood with a second from Mary Beth Heyward.

Chris Bickley was recognized to present the Community & Economic Development Report. Michelle Knight was unable to attend the meeting. Copies were in meeting packets, and Chris submitted the report as written noting there are 50 active projects and another 11 projects in the application process. The report was accepted as information.

Chairman Phillips asked Chris Bickley to continue with the Director's Report. Copies were in meeting packets. Chris announced that board members would caucus by county following the meeting to appoint FY 2011-2012 at-large county Executive Committee members and select representatives to attend the NADO conference in October. He reviewed selected items in the report. The Port Royal Sound Foundation had asked to use the COG's loaned employee program, and both he and the finance director recommended approval. George Williams moved to approve the request, and Brian Flewelling seconded the motion. Chairman Phillips called for discussion and there was none. The motion unanimously carried. Chris Bickley continued and reported that the prime contractor for MCAS-Beaufort's \$70M construction project will brief local businesses about subcontracting opportunities at a June 28 meeting at the Beaufort Holiday Inn. He asked that the information be shared with everyone that may be interested. Chris gave details about a 2012 Federal Match Program announced by SCDOT and brief discussion followed. Everyone

was invited to attend a June 29 Aging & Disability Resource Center (ADRC) open house at the COG and public kick-off of ADRC in the region.

Chairman Phillips called for a motion to enter Executive Session for the purpose of completing the Executive Director's annual performance evaluation. Copies of the evaluation form were mailed to board members prior to the meeting. The Executive Committee met earlier that day to develop recommendations. A motion to enter Executive Session was made by Joe McDomick, seconded by Mary Beth Heyward and unanimously approved. The meeting returned to Open Session. Bill McBride moved to approve the Executive Director's evaluation with a score of 132 in the exceptional range, and the motion was properly seconded. Chairman Phillips asked if there were additional comments or discussion and there were none. The motion carried with all in favor.

During Council Time, Gary Hodges said Governor Haley would be in Ridgeland July 14th for an economic development announcement and invited everyone to attend.

With no additional business to address and on motion duly made, seconded and approved, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 7:10 p.m. Copies of the agenda were distributed prior to the meeting. A notice of the meeting was posted on the LCOG bulletin board at least twenty-four hours prior to the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

L. Chriswell Bickley, Jr. Executive Director

Attachments

1

ADDENDUM:

Board members caucused after the meeting and appointed new Executive Committee members: Beaufort County, Bill McBride; Colleton County, Joe Flowers; Hampton County, Charles Boyles; and Jasper County, Gary Hodges. Additionally, a board member from each county was selected to attend the 2011 NADO conference and included Mary Beth Heyward, Bill Young, Tootie Griffith and Gwen Smith representing Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper County respectively. Esther Black was Colleton County's alternate.