## LOWCOUNTRY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

June 25, 2009 6:30 p.m.

## **MINUTES**

PRESENT: ABSENT:

BEAUFORT COUNTY: Donnie Beer

**COLLETON COUNTY:** 

Herbert Glaze Brian Flewelling (Proxy to B. McBride)

Gerald Dawson (Proxy to B. McBride)

Mary Beth Heyward Joseph McDomick

Bill McBride James Outlaw (Proxy to B. McBride)
George Williams Jerry Stewart (Proxy B. McBride)
Lisa Sulka (Proxy to B. Heyward)

Esther Black Burley Lyons
Joseph Flowers George White
Vic Nettles Bill Young

Evon Robinson Gene Whetsel

HAMPTON COUNTY: Jimmy Bilka Frankie Bennett

J. L. Goodwin Lloyd Griffith (Proxy to P. Hagood)

Pete Hagood Nat Shaffer

**Buddy Phillips** 

JASPER COUNTY: Gary Hodges Roy Powell

George Hood Henry Lawton Gwen Smith

GUESTS: Mary Amonitti, SC Commission on Minority Affairs; McDonald Hamilton

representing Frankie Bennett; Fred Hamilton representing Lisa Sulka; Celia

Price, guest of Esther Black; Brad Samuel, SCANA Corp.

STAFF: Chris Bickley, Michelle Knight, Ginnie Kozak, Sherry Smith, Carol Stonebraker,

Jamie Wood

Chairman Heyward called the June 25, 2009 Lowcountry Council of Governments regular board meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Evon Robinson gave the invocation. Introduction of guests and staff followed. Minutes of the May 28, 2009 board meeting were unanimously approved on motion by Henry Lawton with a second from Joe Flowers. Proxies presented by the Executive Director included Gerald Dawson, Brian Flewelling, Jim Outlaw and Jerry Stewart to Bill McBride; Lloyd Griffith to Pete Hagood and Lisa Sulka to the Chair. All were general proxies. The meeting proceeded after determining a quorum was present.

Chairman Heyward recognized Nominating Committee Chairman Bill McBride to present a slate of officers for the new year. Mr. McBride thanked his fellow members for their service on the committee and nominated Dr. George Hood, Chairman; Buddy Phillips, Vice-Chairman; Bill Young,

Secretary and Herbert Glaze, Treasurer from Jasper, Hampton, Colleton and Beaufort County respectively. Pete Hagood moved to approve the nominations, and following a second from Joe Flowers, the motion carried with all in favor.

Chris Bickley was recognized to present the FY09-10 Agency Budget. Draft copies were mailed to board members prior to the meeting and were in meeting packets. Chris reported that the Executive Committee had met the previous week for an in-depth budget review and recommended its adoption. He briefly discussed selected portions. The proposed budget increased \$657K over current budget as revised last month, was balanced and held \$39K in contingency funds. Based on current economic conditions and Consumer Price Index measurements, no employee cost-of-living salary increase was requested. Reduction in the state budget appropriation and increased match requirements for program expansions had created an unavoidable reduction in the COG's bottom line; however, it remained financially strong, on track and expected continued growth. Following discussion, Vic Nettles moved to approve the budget as submitted, and seconded by Buddy Phillips, the motion was unanimously approved.

Michelle Knight was recognized to discuss the Energy Efficiency & Conservation Block Grants (EECBG) program. A summary was mailed to board members prior to the meeting and copies were in meeting packets. Michelle reviewed the information. The State Energy Office is working with the ten Councils of Governments to assist with project applications for EECBG funding, which is part of the federal ARRA stimulus effort. Beaufort County, like several larger South Carolina counties, received a direct allocation and therefore is not part of the LCOG program. The other three counties are included. Michelle reviewed the proposed timeline for letters of intent, application package and project rankings noting that applications are due to the state by September 15, 2009. Discussion followed, after which Joe Flowers moved to approve the program schedule. Jimmy Bilka seconded the motion and it was unanimously approved.

Chairman Heyward recognized Michelle Knight to present a proposed Lowcountry Regional HOME Consortium project for board consideration. Affordable Housing Manager Barbara Johnson was unable to attend the meeting. Michelle reviewed a Jasper County Neighbors United request for \$67,156 in support of its Down Payment Assistance program. The Affordable Housing Committee had reviewed and recommended approving the request with a \$10,000 maximum per unit. Following discussion, Joe Flowers moved to accept the committee's recommendation. Henry Lawton seconded the motion and it passed with all in favor.

Sherry Smith was recognized for the Financial Report. Sherry reviewed the report noting the numbers had been posted against budget revisions approved at the last meeting. Accounts Receivables were in good shape. The report was accepted as information.

Michelle Knight was recognized for the Community & Economic Development Report. She said that award decisions for the spring funding round were expected in about two weeks and that the COG had submitted six applications. Official award notice had been received from EDA on the Mungin Center (TCL Hampton County) project. Michelle reported that, of the three projects submitted by the COG for Recovery Act funding, Beaufort County had received preliminary approval and was on the list to HUD for consideration. The Town of Yemassee had been notified it was approved as alternate should Beaufort County not meet start-date requirements. The report was accepted as information.

Chris Bickley was recognized for the Director's Report. He submitted the report as written and expressed appreciation to the board for its positive evaluation last month of his job performance. In addition to the regular 208 Certifications, Unemployment Rates and Average Weekly Private Sector Wages reports, a 1998-2008 Lowcountry Building Permits summary of regional new construction was in meeting packets. Chris requested that board members caucus by county following the meeting to select at-large Executive Committee members and NADO Conference attendees. The board may not need to meet in July.

There were no comments during Council Time. With no additional business to address, and on motion duly made, seconded and approved, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 7:00 p.m. Copies of the agenda were distributed prior to the meeting. A notice of the meeting was posted on the LCOG bulletin board at least twenty-four hours prior to the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

L. Chriswell Bickley, Jr. Executive Director

Attachments

## ADDENDUM:

Members caucused by county after adjournment and selected Executive Committee members Donnie Beer/Beaufort County, Vic Nettles/Colleton County, Pete Hagood/Hampton County, and Gary Hodges/Jasper County. Those selected to attend the NADO Conference included Bill McBride, Esther Black, Jimmy Bilka and Gwen Smith representing Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper County respectively.