BEAUFORT COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE (BCTC)

MEETING MINUTES

FROM January 17, 2024

The regular meeting of the Beaufort County Transportation Committee (BCTC) was held on January 17, 2024, at the County chambers, hosted by Beaufort County's County Channel.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kraig Gordon (Chairman), Jim Backer (Treasurer), Craig Forrest, Arthur Handman, Paul Manning, and Charles Perry, Clarence Daniels, Arthur Handman, Virginia Kozak

MEMBERS ABSENT (EXCUSED): John Glover (Vice Chairman), John Varol

MEMBERS ABSENT (UNEXCUSED):

MEMBERS TARDY: Virginia Kozak

OTHERS PRESENT: Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator – Infrastructure

Anna "Tab" Tabernik, County Council liaison to the CTC committee

Carol Puryear, Executive Assistant, Infrastructure Rusty Bratz., Transportation Construction Manager Bryan Bauer, Transportation Construction Manager

Hannah Nichols, Public Information Officer

York Glover, County Council Paula Brown, County Council

Chad Rawls, SCDOT Ivanna Gearhart, SCDOT

Oliver Barnes, Thomas Concrete James Iwanicki, Town of Hilton Head

Suzanne Larson

Elizabeth Penn-Sanders, SCDOT Carrie Gorsuch, City of Beaufort

Suzanne Larson, Lowcountry Inside Tract

Libby Prebla, Citizen

<u>Notification</u>. A recording of this meeting is available from the Beaufort County's County Channel. PowerPoint presentations provided to the BCTC are also available from the Beaufort County Capital Projects Department.

- 1. <u>Call to Order & Members Roll Call</u>. The meeting was called to order at approximately 4:00 p.m. by Chairman Gordon and an attendance roll call was taken.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance.
- 3. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>. <u>Motion to approve meeting minutes from the November 15, 2023, CTC Meeting was moved by Arthur Handman. and seconded by Jim Backer Vote: YAYS: (8) Kraig Gordon, Craig Forrest, Jim Backer, Paul Manning, Charles Perry, Clarence Daniel Sr., Virginia Kozak, and Arthur Handman/NAYS: (0)</u>
- 4. CALL TO ORDER Roll Call
 - A. Introductions
 - B. Certificate of Appreciation to Thomas Concrete

PUBLIC COMMENT (TO AGENDA ITEMS ONLY) No public comment

- 5. OLD BUSINESS
 - A. SCDOT DISTRICT PROJECT UPDATE

Ms. Neva Newman, SCDOT Resident Construction Engineer Chairman Kraig Gordon provided updates in Ms. Newman's absence.

BEAUFORT COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE (BCTC)

MEETING MINUTES

FROM January 17, 2024

B. DIRT ROAD PROJECT UPDATE (#53 In-Design)

Mr. Bryan Bauer, P.E., Transportation Construction Manager Bryan Bauer provided updates on the Dirt Road projects.

C. CTC RESURFACING PROJECT (Year 6, Year 7 & Benton Field Update)

Mr. Bryan Bauer, P.E., Transportation Construction Manager Bryan Bauer provided updates on the Resurfacing projects.

D. CTC PAVEMENT PRESERVATION PROJECT (REJUVENATION UPDATE)

Mr. Bryan Bauer, P.E., Transportation Construction Manager

Bryan Bauer provided updates on the Preservation and Rejuvenator project.

E. CTC STATE SECONDARY PROJECT UPDATE < 500 ADT. UPDATE

Mr. Bryan Bauer, P.E., Transportation Construction Manager

F. SR 170 & TRIANGLE UPDATE

*Mr. Jared Fralix, P.E. Assistant County Administrator*Jared Fralix provided updates on the SR170, Triangle, and Bridge projects.

G. US278 & BRIDGE STATUS

Mr. Jared Fralix, P.E. Assistant County Administrator Jared Fralix provided updates on US 278 & Bridge Projects.

6. NEW BUSINESS

A. SELECTION OF COMMITTEE STREETS WITH ADT 500-2000

Mr. Kraig Gordon, Chairman

Kraig Gordon stated that he would like to hire a consulting firm to create a list the committee can then choose streets from.

Motion to approve hiring a consulting firm moved by Arthur Handman and seconded by Paul Manning. **VOTE:** Yays; (7) Kraig Gordon, Chairman; Jim Backer, Charles Perry, Virginia Kozak, Paul Manning, Clarence Daniels, Arthur Handman No: (1) J. Craig Forrest Motion Passed

B. BLUFFTON PARKWAY UPDATE

Bryan Bauer, Transportation Construction Manager Bryan Bauer provided an update on the Bluffton Parkway

C. FUTURE REGIONAL GROWTH

Mr. Kraig Gordon, Chairman

Kraig Gordon provided information on upcoming future regional growth.

D. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Nomination for Chairman, Arthur Handman nominated Kraig Gordon, via acclimation in place of vote <u>Motion to approve Vote: YAYS: (7) Craig Forrest, Jim Backer, Paul Manning, Charles Perry, Clarence Daniel Sr., Virginia Kozak and Arthur Handman/NAYS: (0)</u>

Nomination for Vice-Chairman, Kraig Gordon, Chairman nominated Arthur Handman, Seconded by Ginnie Kozak, voted via acclimation in place of vote VOTE: YAYS (7) Kraig Gordon, Craig Forrest, Jim Backer, Paul Manning, Charles Perry, Clarence Daniel Sr., Virginia Kozak and Arthur Handman/NAYS: (0)

7. TREASURER'S REPORT

A. CURRENT FUND STATUS

Mr. Kraig Gordon, Chairman, fund status made available next meeting

8. PUBLIC COMMENT (TO AGENDA ITEMS ONLY) No public comments

9. KRAIG GORDON, CHAIRMAN *will attend a conference on March 20, 2024, and would like to move the meeting date to March 13, 2024. Motion made by Craig Forrest, and seconded by Jim Backer. VOTE:* <u>YAYS: (8) Kraig</u>

BEAUFORT COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE (BCTC)

MEETING MINUTES

FROM January 17, 2024

<u>Gordon, Craig Forrest, Jim Backer, Paul Manning, Charles Perry, Clarence Daniels, Virginia Kozak, Arthur Handman NAYS (0)</u>

10. CHAIRMAN COMMENTS

11. ADJOURNMENT The meeting was adjourned at 4:49 p.m. The next regular meeting of the BCTC will be held on March 13, 2024, at 4:00 p.m. held in the County Council Chambers, County Administration Building, Robert Smalls Complex, Beaufort, SC.